Red Bulls best Army, 3-1, in exhibition

Agudelo's brace leads New York to fiendly win

Tony Tchani

Photo Credit: 
Mady Salvani/Army Athletics

WEST POINT, NY- The New York Red Bulls earned a 3-1 win over the United
States Military Academy in an exhibition match held at Clinton Field on
the West Point campus this afternoon.

Juan Agudelo got the Red Bulls on the board in the 21st minute. Irving
Garcia sent in a cross and Agudelo used a half-volley to redirect the
ball past Army goalkeeper Michal Fiuk.

Late in the first half, the Black Knights were able to find the
equalizer. With Greg Sutton caught off his line to challenge for a
loose ball, Josh Koeppe found a clear look at the goal from 35 yards and
lofted the ball over a retreating Sutton to knot the score at 1-1.

Agudelo put New York in front for good in the 53rd minute, sliding home a
Damani Ralph cross right in front of the goal mouth. Conor Chinn put
the game away with an unassisted tally in the 88th minute.

The Red Bulls controlled play throughout, posting a 21-4 advantage in
shots and holding a 14-1 edge in corner kicks.

The Red Bulls hit the road for two straight games, first facing Seattle
Sounders FC at Qwest Field at 10:30 PM on Saturday, April 3 (TV: FSC,
FSE). Full Season Ticket Plans for the New York Red Bulls' first season
at Red Bull Arena are on sale now. Midfield seats in the 100-Level and
sideline sections 107, 112, 124 and 128 are all sold out, but good seats
are still available. For more information or to purchase tickets, call
1.877.RBSOCCER or log onto

Scoring Summary:
Juan Agudelo (Irving Garcia) 21
UMSA: Josh Koeppe (unassisted) 45
NY: Agudelo (Damani Ralph) 53
NY: Conor Chinn (unassisted) 88

Disciplinary Summary:
Andrew Boyens (caution) 44

New York Red Bulls- Greg Sutton, Luke Sassano, Carlos Mendes,
Andrew Boyens, Seth Stammler (Conor Chinn 46), Austin da Luz, Tony
Tchani, Irving Garcia, Damani Ralph*, Juan Agudelo, John Wolyniec.

Army (starters)- Michal Fiuk, Jeffrey Pickett, Michael Chere,
Mitch Johnson, Josh Koeppe, Michael Leach, Carson McReynolds, Michael
Kim, Kenneth Leslie, Tanner Robertson, Cameron Jarvis.

* - Denotes Non-Roster Player