Red Bulls and MSG Networks sign multi-year telecast rights extension

MSG Networks to produce Pre- and Post-Game Shows

MSG Contract 2011

Photo Credit: 
Getty Images

HARRISON, NJ– The New York Red Bulls of Major League Soccer and MSG Networks have agreed to a new multi-year agreement ensuring that MSG Networks will continue as the local telecast home of the Red Bulls.

MSG Networks, which consists of MSG Network an MSG Plus, has held the telecast rights to the team since 1996, and will telecast 24 of New York’s 32 regular season games this season, up from 22 games in 2010. MSG Networks will also produce pre and post-game shows for select Red Bulls games. All 24 game telecasts will be produced in a high definition format.

“MSG Networks has been a valuable partner for our organization since the club’s inception and we are thrilled to continue our relationship with them,” said Red Bull New York Managing Director Erik Stover. “With this new multi-year deal, we expect our fans will be able to view a broadcast that is among the best in Major League Soccer. MSG Networks has made a strong commitment to helping us become the country’s premier soccer franchise and today’s announcement is a significant step towards that goal.”

“MSG Networks and the Red Bulls have a long history together and we are proud to have them return for their 16th season,” said Dan Ronayne, executive vice president and general manager, MSG Networks. “We look forward to once again providing New York soccer fans with exclusive local coverage of the Red Bulls.”

Veteran sports anchor and reporter Steve Cangialosi returns for his fourth season as the team’s play-by-play announcer and 10th covering the Red Bulls, while former New York Cosmos goalkeeper Shep Messing starts his 11th season as an expert analyst. MSG Networks host and experienced sideline reporter Tina Cervasio will be back for her fourth season covering the Red Bulls, while Eddie Caggianelli begins his 10th season producing matches.

2011 New York Red Bulls Broadcast Schedule

Date Opponent Time Network
Sat., March 19 Seattle Sounders 7:30 PM MSG
Sat., March 26 at Columbus Crew 4:00 PM MSGPlus
Sat., April 2 Houston Dynamo 7:30 PM MSG2
Sat., April 9 at Philadelphia Union 7:00 PM ESPN2/Deportes
Sat., April 16 San Jose Earthquakes 7:30 PM MSG
Thurs., April 21 at DC United 8:00 PM ESPN2/Deportes
Sat., April 30 Sporting Kansas City 7:30 PM MSG
Sat., May 7 at LA Galaxy 11:00 PM ESPN2/Deportes
Sun., May 15 Chivas USA 7:00 PM MSGPlus/Galavision
Sat., May 25 at Houston Dynamo 8:30 PM MSG
Sat., May 28 at Vancouver Whitecaps 7:00 PM MSG
Sat., June 4 Columbus Crew 7:30 PM MSG
Fri., June 10 New England Revolution 8:30 PM FSC
Sun., June 19 at Portland Timbers 10:00 PM MSGPlus/Galavision
Thurs., June 23 at Seattle Sounders 10:00 PM ESPN2/Deportes
Sun., June 26 at Chicago Fire 2:00 PM ESPN2/Deportes
Sat., July 2 at San Jose Earthquakes 10:30 PM ESPN2
Wed., July 6 Toronto FC 8:00 PM MSGPlus
Sat., July 9 DC United 7:30 PM MSG
Sat., July 16 at Chivas USA 10:30 PM MSG
Wed., July 20 at Colorado Rapids 9:30 PM MSGPlus
Sat., July 23 FC Dallas 6:00 PM MSG/Galavision
Sat., Aug. 6 at Real Salt Lake 9:00 PM MSG
Sat., Aug. 13 Chicago Fire 7:30 PM MSG
Sat., Aug. 20 at New England Revolution 7:30 PM MSG
Sun., Aug. 28 LA Galaxy 7:00 PM ESPN2/Deportes
Sat., Sept. 10 Vancouver Whitecaps 7:30 PM MSG
Sat., Sept. 17 at FC Dallas 8:30 PM MSG
Wed., Sept. 21 Real Salt Lake 8:00 PM MSGPlus
Sat., Sept. 24 Portland Timbers 7:30 PM MSG
Sat. Oct. 1 at Toronto FC 7:30 PM FSC
Sat., Oct. 15 at Sporting Kansas City 4:00 PM MSG/Telefutura
Thurs., Oct. 20 Philadelphia Union 8:00 PM ESPN2/Deportes