RBNY's Márquez summoned by Mexico for Gold Cup

Defender heads list of 23, only MLS player called up by de la Torre

New York Red Bulls star Rafa Márquez helms a list of 23 players called
by Mexico national coach José Manuel de la Torre on Friday for next
month's CONCACAF Gold Cup.

The veteran center back, who recently became the eighth player for
Mexico to reach 100 caps, is sure to captain a loaded team, which will
include names such as Manchester United’s Javier "Chicharito" Hernández,
Deportivo La Coruña’s Andrés Guardado and six other European-based
players. Márquez will likely be used in midfield for El Tri despite having spent every minute of 2011 for New York in defense.

As expected, Márquez survived the cut from a preliminary list de la
Torre gave in April. The Red Bulls defender is the only MLS
representative on El Tri's list, as Sporting Kansas City striker Omar
Bravo wasn't summoned by the Mexico coach. Fourteen of the 23 play in
Mexico's Primera División, including four from CONCACAF Champions League
winners Monterrey.

Most of the players are expected to report to the team’s training camp
in Mexico City on Sunday, though Márquez will join Mexico on May 26 at

The Gold Cup runs from June 5-25, but Mexico’s participation could end
as soon as June 12 if they don’t make it out of Group A, which they
share with Costa Rica, El Salvador and Cuba.

Should El Tri win the Gold Cup, they would represent CONCACAF in the
2013 Confederations Cup expected to be held from June 16-30 in Brazil.


Goalkeepers: Jesús Corona (Cruz Azul, Mexico), Alfredo Talavera (Toluca, Mexico), Guillermo Ochoa (Club América, Mexico).

Defenders: Ricardo Osorio (Monterrey, Mexico), Edgar
Dueñas (Toluca, Mexico), Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres UANL, Mexico), Rafa
Márquez (New York Red Bulls), Francisco Javier Rodríguez (PSV Eindhoven,
Netherlands), Héctor Moreno (AZ Alkmaar, Netherlands), Carlos Salcido
(Fulham, England).

Midfielders: Gerardo Torrado (Cruz Azul, Mexico),
Israel Castro (Pumas UNAM , Mexico), Luis Ernesto Pérez (Monterrey,
Mexico), Jesús Zavala (Monterrey, Mexico), Antonio Naelson Sinha
(Toluca, Mexico), Ángel Reyna (Club América, Mexico), Efraín Juárez
(Celtic, Scotland), Andrés Guardado (Deportivo La Coruña, Spain).

Forwards: Aldo de Nigris (Monterrey, Mexico), Giovani
dos Santos (Racing Santander, Spain), Javier Hernández (Manchester
United, England), Pablo Barrera (West Ham United, England), Elías
Hernández (Morelia, Mexico).