Rafa Marquez
Getty Images

Márquez's laser wins AT&T Goal of the Week

The Red Bulls' latest DP signing opened his MLS scoring account in style, and he was justly rewarded with the AT&T Goal of the Week honor for Week 21.

In one of the more hotly contested fan polls on MLSsoccer.com so far this season, Rafa Márquez's laser against Toronto FC collected 56.7 percent of the vote, nudging out Houston's Brian Ching for the weekly gong.

WATCH: Rafa's golazo

Ching's exquisite overhead bicycle kick goal [WATCH] earned 39.8 percent of the fans' votes in what turned out to be a two-horse race. Dallas' Brek Shea, Colorado's Pablo Mastroeni and Houston's Lovel Palmer earned a little more than 3.5 percent between them.

Márquez fearsome strike broke the deadlock and set the tone of a 4-1 drubbing of their East rivals. At around 10 yards back from the top of the D, the Mexican national team captain struck a first-time effort with the outside of his foot. The shot whistled past goalkeeper Stefan Frei and into the upper right corner of the frame.

Márquez and the Red Bulls handed Toronto their first home defeat of the season and opened up an 8-point lead over the third-placed Reds in the Eastern Conference standings. New York next host San Jose on Saturday.

2010 AT&T Goal of the Week Winners

Week 21: Rafa Marquez, New York Red Bulls

Week 20: Javier Morales, Real Salt Lake

Week 19: Fredy Montero, Seattle Sounders

Week 18: Sebastien Le Toux, Philadelphia Union

Week 17: Ned Grabavoy, Real Salt Lake

Week 16: Roger Levesque, Seattle Sounders

Week 15: David Ferreira, FC Dallas

Week 14: Juninho, Los Angeles

Week 13: Juan Pablo Angel, New York Red Bulls

Week 12: Kei Kamara, Kansas City Wizards

Week 11: Leo Gonzalez, Seattle Sounders

Week 10: Shea Salinas, Philadelphia Union

Week 9: Dominic Oduro, Houston Dynamo

Week 8: Danny Mwanga, Philadelphia Union

Week 7: Logan Pause, Chicago Fire

Week 6: Chris Wondolowski, San Jose Earthquakes

Week 5: Fredy Montero, Seattle Sounders FC

Week 4: Lovel Palmer, Houston Dynamo

Week 3: Marco Pappa, Chicago Fire

Week 2: Kenny Mansally, New England Revolution

Week 1: Javier Morales, Real Salt Lake