Red Bulls Announce Protected List Ahead of 2011 MLS Expansion Draft

HARRISON, NJ (November 21, 2011) – The New York Red Bulls released its 11-man protected roster this afternoon to Major League Soccer ahead of Wednesday’s 2011 MLS Expansion Draft. All current MLS clubs protected 11 players from their 2011 roster today. The League’s 19th team that is joining in 2012, the Montreal Impact, will select 10 players during the 10-round draft. The full list of selected players is expected to be announced at approximately 3:00 PM via the League’s Official website, MLSSoccer.com

Generation adidas players (who did not graduate at the end of the 2011 season) and Home Grown players on the team’s Off-Budget Roster are automatically protected and do not count against a team’s 11 protected roster spots. New York’s protected list is as follows:

Defenders: Stephen Keel, Roy Miller, Tim Ream, Jan Gunnar Solli
Midfielders: Joel Lindpere, Dax McCarty, Rafa Marquez, Dane Richards, Teemu Tainio
Forwards: Thierry Henry, Luke Rodgers

Forward Corey Hertzog (Generation adidas) and forward Juan Agudelo, midfielder Matt Kassel and defender Sacir Hot (Home Grown players) are automatically protected.

In the draft, once one player has been claimed from a club’s non-protected roster, that club is eliminated from the expansion draft and may not lose any further players.

The following New York players are unprotected and can be selected by Montreal:

Goalkeepers: Bouna Coundoul, Alex Horwath, Frank Rost, Greg Sutton
Defenders: Chris Albright, Mike Jones, Tyler Lassiter, Carlos Mendes, Teddy Schneider
Midfielders: Stephane Auvray, Mehdi Ballouchy, Brian Nielsen, Marcos Paullo, Carl Robinson, John Rooney

For more information regarding the rules of the MLS Expansion Draft, please go to: http://pressbox.mlssoccer.com/content/2012-expansion-draft-rules.