First Place Red Bulls Run Unbeaten Streak to Five with 1-1 Draw at New England

HARRISON, NJ (May 11, 2013) – Midfielder Lloyd Sam scored his first MLS goal as the first place New York Red Bulls ran their unbeaten streak to five with a 1-1 tie against the New England Revolution at Gillette Stadium Saturday night. With the draw, New York moved to 21 points with a 6-4-3 record and is leading the Eastern Conference by one point.

New York begins a three-game homestand on May 19, hosting defending MLS Cup Champion, the LA Galaxy, at 1:00 PM at Red Bull Arena. For tickets, call 1.877.RBSOCCER or log onto www.newyorkredbulls.com.

Fabian Espindola tried to put the Red Bulls ahead in the 14th minute, firing a left-footed blast past the right post. Later, Heath Pearce got his head on a New York corner kick and nodded it wide. In the 38th minute, Revolution forward Dimitry Imbongo ran at the Red Bulls’ defense and his shot was saved by goalkeeper Luis Robles.

New England went ahead in the 54th minute. Chris Tierney’s corner kick towards the near post was volleyed by Diego Fagundez and blocked off the line by New York's Kosuke Kimura. However, Fagundez got to his own rebound first and put it in from close range.

However, the Red Bulls responded immediately. Forward Andre Akpan, making his first start as a Red Bull, slid it into the box to Sam, who controlled the pass and put it inside the left post for his first career MLS goal.

New York Red Bulls 1, New England Revolution 1
May 11, 2013 – Gillette Stadium – Foxborough, MA
MLS Regular Season

Scoring Summary:
NE: Diego Fagundez 2 (unassisted) 54’
NY: Lloyd Sam 1 (Andre Akpan 2, Kosuke Kimura 2) 55’

Disciplinary Summary:
NE: Kalifa Cisse (caution) 19’

New York Red Bulls (6-4-3, 21 points) – Luis Robles, Kosuke Kimura, Markus Holgersson, Heath Pearce, Roy Miller, Lloyd Sam (Brandon Barklage 76’), Eric Alexander, Tim Cahill (Juninho 46’), Jonny Steele, Fabian Espindola, Andre Akpan

Substitutes Not Used: Michael Bustamante, Santiago Castano, Connor Lade, Dax McCarty, Marius Obekop

New England Revolution (2-4-4, 10 points) – Bobby Shuttleworth, Andrew Farrell, Jose Goncalves, Stephen McCarthy, Chris Tierney, Ryan Guy, Kalifa Cisse (Andy Dorman 77’), Lee Nguyen, Kelyn Rowe (Saer Sene 70’), Diego Fagundez, Dimitry Imbongo (Jerry Bengtson 74’)

Substitutes Not Used: Matt Reis, Darrius Barnes, Scott Caldwell, Juan Toja

Referee: Ricardo Salazar
Referee’s Assistants: Ian Anderson, Jeff Muschik
4th Referee: Kevin Terry Jr.
Attendance: 16,440