Thierry Henry named to MLS All-Star Fan XI

HARRISON, NJ (July 16, 2014) – New York forward Thierry Henry was named to the 2014 MLS All-Star Fan XI tonight during halftime of the Red Bulls-Philadelphia Union game at PPL Park. The MLS All-Stars will face 2013-14 German Bundesliga Champion F.C. Bayern Munich on Wednesday, August 6 at Providence Park in Portland, OR at 9:30 PM (ESPN2, UniMas). This is Henry’s fourth MLS All-Star Team selection.

Through 15 appearances this season, Henry has scored four goals and has recorded a league-leading nine assists. The Red Bulls captain was named MLS Player of the Week for his one goal and three assist performance against Columbus in Week 18.

Now in his fourth full season in MLS since joining in July 2010, Henry has been named to the MLS Best XI twice (2011, 2012). On the international level, Henry helped France win the 1998 FIFA World Cup and reach the tournament final at the 2006 FIFA World Cup. The former European Championship and UEFA Champions League winner has recorded 45 goals and a club record 37 assists in 107 MLS regular season appearances.

In what could shape up to be a stateside World Cup showcase, MLS All-Star opponents Bayern Munich currently field seven players that took part in Germany's World Cup winning team. In total, 14 Bayern players represented their countries in Brazil, more than any club in the world.

The Fan XI received the most votes at their respective positions from combined fan voting on two platforms - online at and via Twitter. The ballot consisted of eight players from each club, as chosen by the media.

A 3-4-3 formation was selected for this year's Fan XI.

2014 MLS All-Star Fan XI

  • Goalkeeper: Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)
  • Defenders: Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)
  • Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)
  • Forwards: Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls), Obafemi Martins (Seattle Sounders FC - AT&T/EA SPORTS "More than a Vote" Challenge winner)

Players who were close to the leading vote-getters at their positions, but finished outside the Fan XI include, in alphabetical order by last name: Steven Beitashour (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Júlio César (Toronto FC), Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls), Aurelien Collin (Sporting Kansas City), Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC) and Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City).

The Fan XI are not necessarily included on the game day roster. MLS All-Star coach Caleb Porter will select the roster based on player availability and tactical considerations, but all Fan XI players are All-Stars.

Two selections by MLS Commissioner Don Garber, and Porter's complete 20-man game day roster, will be announced on Saturday, July 19 during ESPN2's broadcast of Sporting Kansas City vs. LA Galaxy.

Under the CBA, a total of 32 players will be named All-Stars. After the game day roster, the remaining players receiving the All-Star honor will come from voting among MLS players.

Following tonight’s game in Philadelphia tonight, the Red Bulls return to Red Bull Arena on Saturday, July 19, to host the San Jose Earthquakes at 7:00 PM. Tickets for the Red Bulls’ next home game against the Earthquakes are available now by calling 1.877.727.6233 or logging onto There will be a post-game fireworks show after the game.