MATCH RECAP: New York Red Bulls II 1, Charleston Battery 1

Manhattan, N.Y. (May 17, 2015) – New York Red Bulls II played to a 1-1 draw with the Charleston Battery on Sunday night under the lights of Rocco B. Commisso field  at Columbia University. Anatole Abang scored in the sixth minute, and Charleston’s Justin Portillo evened on a penalty in stoppage time.

NYRB II opened the scoring when Cameroonian midfielder Marius Obekop gained possession at the top of the penalty area, opened up the defense and slotted a ball through the defenders legs to his countryman, Abang. Abang was able to maneuver around Charleston ‘keeper Kevin Corby and deposit his third of the season.

The teams played evenly for the rest of the half. New York was also able to stifle a potent Charleston offense for the next 45 minutes, thanks in large part to eight saves from goalkeeper Santiago Castano. The tying goal came in stoppage time when a Charleston player was pulled down in the penalty area on a long throw-in. Charleston’s Justin Portillo stepped to the spot and buried his attempt to knot the game at one.

The best defensive series for New York came midway through the second period, when second-half sub Tyler Adams followed up a Castano save by clearing a ball of the line. Castano was then able to reposition himself to make a third save before the ball was cleared.

Charleston’s Maikel Chang put a chance squarely off the post later in stoppage time.

Scoring Summary

  • NY – Anatole Abang (3) (Marius Obekop) 6’
  • CHS – Justin Portillo (PK), 90+1

Discipline Summary

  • CHS – Dane Kelly, 41’
  • CHS – O’Brian Woodbine, 45’
  • CHS – Navion Boyd, 45+1’
  • CHS – Jarad van Schaik, 74’
  • NY – Tyler Adams, 90+1


NY – Santiago Castano, Shawn McLaws, Andrew Jean-Baptiste, Michael Da Fonte, James Thomas, Dan Metzger, Sean Davis (Tyler Adams, 46’), Marius Obekop (Derrick Etienne, 69’) , Manolo Sanchez (Konrad Plewa), Dan Bedoya (Alex Clay, 74’) , Anatole Abang (Chris Tsonis, 67’)

CHS – Kevin Corby, Emmanuel Adjetey, Shawn Ferguson, AJ Cochrane, O’Brian Woodbine, Maikel Chang, Jared van Schaik, Navion Boyd (Zach Prince, 68’), Haviel Cordoves (Ricky Garbanzo, 64’), Justin Portillo, Dane Kelly (Taylor Mueller, 90+1)