Escobar and Murillo Named to Panama's 35-Man Provisional World Cup Roster

HARRISON, N.J. (May 14, 2018) - New York Red Bulls defenders Michael Amir Murillo and Fidel Escobar were named to Panama’s 35-man preliminary 2018 World Cup roster in Russia.

Panama qualified for their first ever World Cup, finishing in third place in CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying.

They were paired in Group G along with Belgium, England and Tunisia.

Murillo, across all competitions in 2018 has started 11 matches, logging 990 minutes with one goal and one assist.

Escobar has started fives games between the New York Red Bulls and NYRB II, logging 439 minutes and scoring one goal in USL play.

The pair are set to depart for Panama’s training camp following the May 20 match against Atlanta United FC at Mercedes-Benz Stadium.

Listed below is the 35-man roster:

Goalkeepers: José Calderón (Chorrillo FC), Jaime Penedo (Dinamo Bucharest), Alex Rodríguez (San Francisco FC).

Defenders: Azmahar Ariano (Patriotas FC), Felipe Baloy (CSD Municipal), Harold Cummings (San José Earthquakes), Eric Davis (DAC Dunajska Streda), Fidel Escobar (New York Red Bulls), Adolfo Machado (Houston Dynamo), Michael Murillo (New York Red Bulls), Luis Ovalle (CD Olimpia), Francisco Palacios (San Francisco FC), Richard Peralta (Alianza), Román Torres (Seattle Sounders SC).

Midfielders: Ricardo Ávila (KAA Gent), Edgar Barcenas (Cafetaleros de Tapachula), Ricardo Buitrago (CSD Municipal), Miguel Camargo (Universidad San Martín de Porres), Adalberto Carrasquilla (Tauro FC), Armando Cooper (Club Universidad de Chile), Aníbal Godoy (San José Earthquakes), Gabriel Gómez (Bucaramanga), José González (Unión Comercio), Cristian Martínez (Columbus Crew), Valentín Pimentel (Plaza Amador), Alberto Quintero (Universitario de Lima), José Luis Rodríguez (KAA Gent).

Forwards: Abdiel Arroyo (LD Alajuelense), Rolando Blackburn (Chorrillo FC), Ismael Díaz (Deportivo La Coruña), José Fajardo (CA Independiente), Roberto Nurse (Mineros Zacatecas), Blas Pérez (CSD Municipal), Luis Tejada (Sports Boys), Gabriel Torres (CD Huachipato).

* All the lists are provisional until FIFA makes the official announcement of the lists of 23 players of the 32 participating teams in Russia 2018 on June 4th.