Inside The 18

INSIDE THE 18: Dante Vanzeir Makes First MLS Start


New York Red Bulls’ Dante Vanzeir will make his first MLS start on Saturday night at Red Bull Arena.

Vanzeir, who already has a game-winning goal to his name in his home arena, will be on the pitch for the first whistle as his side takes on the San Jose Earthquakes. He’ll be joined by Cory Burke and Omir Fernandez in the attack.

The Red Bulls have posted a 11-4-6 mark against San Jose at home, which includes a 5-0-2 mark at Red Bull Arena. New York have been unbeaten against San Jose in the last nine matches at home. 

Cristian Cásseres Jr. and Frankie Amaya will paid in the defensive midfield, with Cameron Harper, Dylan Nealis, Sean Nealis, Andrés Reyes and Kyle Duncan starting along the backline.

Carlos Coronel will start in goal.

The Red Bulls are currently on a four-match unbeaten streak at Red Bull Arena dating back to last season. New York defeated Columbus Crew, 2-1, in their last match at Red Bull Arena, where forward Dante Vanzeir scored his first career MLS goal, which was the game-winner. During their four-match unbeaten streak at Red Bull Arena, New York have outscored their opponents, 6-2.

Head Coach Gerhard Struber will have Jayden Reid, Dru Yearwood, Peter Stroud, Daniel Edelman, Wiki Carmona, Elias Manoel, Tom Barlow, Hassan Ndam and Ryan Meara all available off the bench,

Luquinhas, John Tolkin, Lewis Morgan, Matt Nocita, Serge Ngoma and Steven Sserwadda will all miss the match due to injuries.

Kickoff is set for 7:30 p.m. ET on MLS Season Pass on Apple TV and New York Red Bulls Radio in English via TuneIn, the New York Red Bulls app, and

Coverage on MLS Season Pass on Apple TV in English and Spanish begins at 7:30 p.m. ET. Nate Bukaty will have the primary play-by-play responsibilities and will be alongside Jamie Watson on the English side, while Oscar Salazar will have the play-by-play responsibilities alongside Max Cordaro on the Spanish broadcast. New York Red Bulls Radio begins at 7 p.m. ET with Countdown to Kickoff, presented by Honda, hosted by Matt Harmon and Steve Jolley.