New York Red Bulls Announce Protected Player List ahead of MLS Expansion Draft

Red Bull Arena

MLS Expansion draft for Minnesota United FC and Atlanta United FC Set for December 13

HARRISON, N.J. (December 12, 2016) – Major League Soccer announced today the protected players lists ahead of Tuesday's MLS expansion draft for Minnesota United FC and Atlanta United FC. The expansion draft is set for Tuesday, December 13 at 2 p.m. ET.

  • CLICK HERE for the full 2016 MLS Expansion Draft guidelines

Each MLS club can protect 11 players from the senior roster, with Homegrown Players automatically protected. Minnesota and Atlanta will each make five selections. Atlanta will select first, as determined by a coin flip. No more than one player can be selected from each MLS club. 
New York Red Bulls protected players:
Goalkeepers (2): Ryan Meara, Luis Robles
Defenders (2): Aurelien Collin,Kemar Lawrence
Midfielders (5): Dax McCarty, Sacha Kljestan, Felipe, Mike Grella, Daniel Royer
Forwards (2): Bradley Wright-Phillips, Gonzalo Veron
Homegrown Players (6): Tyler Adams, Brandon Allen, Sean Davis, Derrick Etienne Jr., Alex Muyl, Connor Lade
The list of unprotected players is as follows:
Goalkeepers (1): Kyle Reynish
Defenders (8): Gideon Baah, Justin Bilyeu, Chris Duvall, Aaron Long, Karl Ouimette, Damien Perrinelle, Sal Zizzo, Ronald Zubar
Midfielders (1): Shaun Wright-Phillips
Forwards (2): Anatole Abang, Omer Damari