HARRISON, N.J. (October 16, 2016) – New York Red Bulls II advanced to the 2016 USL Cup Final by defeating Louisville City FC on Sunday night at Red Bull Arena. The teams played to a 1-1 draw before NYRB II advanced on PKs, 4-3.

Florian Valot scored the goal in regulation, while Ryan Meara stopped two attempts in the shootout. It was the second-straight week that NYRB II required penalties to advance in the USL Cup Playoffs.

Louisville struck early, with Paco Craig heading in a free kick from Aodhan Quinn in the 11th minute.

New York tied the match in the 74th minute on a set piece. Vincent Bezecourt swung in a free kick and Valot finished the header to level the match. The assist was Bezecourt’s third of the postseason, while the goal was Valot’s first.

After the teams could not be separated in regulation, the match headed to extra time, the second consecutive match to see overtime for NYRB II.

In the overtime period, three total red cards were issued. In the 104th minute, Louisville’s Sean Reynolds was issued a straight red card for a dangerous two-legged challenge on Dan Metzger, and the 118th minute, NYRB II substitute Speedy Williams was issued a straight red card for bringing down a Louisville attacker while in a footrace towards the NYRB II penalty area. Finally, Louisville’s Craig received his second yellow card in the 120th minute.

Meara stopped the first penalty attempt, and then the fourth after Derrick Etienne Jr, Aaron Long, Brandon Allen and Vincent Bezecourt all converted their attempts.

Scoring Summary (Assist Summary):

LOU: Paco Craig (Aodhan Quinn) 11’

NY: Florian Valot (Vincent Bezecourt) 74’

Discipline Summary:

LOU: Paco Craig, Caution 102’

LOU: Sean Reynolds, Ejection 104’

NY: Speedy Williams, Ejection, 118’

LOU: Paco Craig, Ejection, 120’


NY: Ryan Meara, Kevin O’Toole (Konrad Plewa, 64’), Aaron Long, Zach Carroll (Zoumana Simpara, 120’), David Najem (Tim Schmoll, 105’), Tyler Adams (Speedy Williams, 97’), Dan Metzger, Vincent Bezecourt, Derrick Etienne Jr., Brandon Allen, Florian Valot (Stefano Bonomo, 96’)