HARRISON, NJ (October 27, 2013) – The New York Red Bulls won their first-ever MLS Supporters’ Shield 1911049786" tabindex="0">Sunday evening in front of a sold-out crowd of 25,219 at Red Bull Arena, defeating the Chicago Fire 5-2. In a must-win situation, captain Thierry Henry scored New York’s first goal after the hosts went behind, while four other players found the back of the net as the Red Bulls, under first-year head coach and former New York standout defender Mike Petke, completed the regular season with an MLS-best 59 points and a 17-9-8 record.

By virtue of winning the Shield – given to the team with the most points in the regular season – the Red Bulls:

- Won the Eastern Conference regular-season title for the third time (2000, 2010, 2013).
- Earned the top overall seed in the 2013 MLS Cup Playoffs and would host the MLS Cup Final on Dec. 7 at Red Bull Arena if they advanced to that stage.
- Earned a spot in the 2014-15 CONCACAF Champions League

    The Red Bulls begin their 2013 MLS Cup Playoffs run in the two-leg aggregate goal Eastern Conference semifinals on the road next weekend on either 1911049788" tabindex="0">Nov. 2 or 3 against the winner of the Knockout Round game between the Houston Dynamo and Montreal Impact. New York will then host the home leg. MLS Cup Playoff tickets for Red Bulls home matches are on sale now by calling 1.877.RBSOCCER or clicking below:

    Get Red Bulls playoff tickets!

    New York Red Bulls 5, Chicago Fire 2
    October 27, 2013 – Red Bull Arena – Harrison, NJ
    MLS Regular Season

    Scoring Summary:
    CHI -- Mike Magee 21 (unassisted) 6
    NY -- Thierry Henry 10 (Peguy Luyindula 5) 24
    NY -- Ibrahim Sekagya 2 (Tim Cahill 5) 49
    NY -- Lloyd Sam 5 (Peguy Luyindula 6) 56
    NY -- Eric Alexander 4 (Peguy Luyindula 7) 77
    NY -- Jonny Steele 5 (Thierry Henry 9) 84
    CHI -- Quincy Amarikwa 3 (Joel Lindpere 8) 90

    Disciplinary Summary:
    NY -- David Carney (caution) 37
    CHI -- Juan Luis Anongono (caution) 52
    CHI -- Bakary Soumare  (caution) 77

    New York Red Bulls (17-9-8, 59 points) – Luis Robles, Markus Holgersson, Ibrahim Sekagya, Jamison Olave, David Carney, Lloyd Sam (Eric Alexander 74), Dax McCarty, Peguy Luyindula, Jonny Steele, Tim Cahill (Brandon Barklage 88), Thierry Henry (Bradley Wright-Phillips 89).
    Substitutes Not Used: Ryan Meara, Matt Miazga, Kosuke Kimura, Fabian Espindola.

    Chicago Fire (14-13-7, 49 points) – Sean Johnson, Jalil Anibaba, Austin Berry, Bakary Soumare, Gonzalo Segares (Joel Lindpere 75), Patrick Nyarko (Quincy Amarikwa 61), Arevalo Rios, Alex, Dilly Duka (Chris Rolfe 68), Mike Magee, Juan Luis Anongono.
    Substitutes Not Used: Paolo Tornaghi, Hunter Jumper, Logan Pause, Daniel Paladini.

    Referee: Ismail Elfath
    Referee’s Assistants: George Gansner; Corey Rockwell
    4th Referee: Jose Carlos Rivero
    Attendance: 25,219 (sellout)