MELBOURNE, Fla. – New York Red Bulls II moved to 8-1-4 on the season after a 2-2 tie with Orlando City B on Sunday night. Defenders Tim Schmoll and Aaron Long both grabbed their first goals of the season.

Orlando City B opened the scoring in the 17th minute when Devron Garcia finished a cross that was mishandled by goalkeeper Ryan Meara. The goal ended Red Bulls II’s 377-minute shutout streak.

Red Bulls II picked up the pressure late in the first half with a flurry of corners. In the 38th minute, 6-foot-6 defender Tim Schmoll bounced on a loose ball after a short corner kick swung in by Devon Williams to score his first professional goal.

Just three minutes later, Derrick Etienne Jr. stepped up for another corner, which he played short to Williams. Williams set the ball with his first touch and then curled a dangerous ball into the box to find the foot of Aaron Long. Long took the ball first time and volleyed it into the side netting.

In the 64th minute, Vincent Bezecourt entered the match as a substitute, completing his return from injury. The French midfielder last played on April 2, 2016.

Orlando’s Pierre Da Silva found a late equalizer in the 87th minute after receiving a pass from Bryan Rochez. This is the first time in seven matches New York had conceded two goals in a match.  

Red Bulls II remains undefeated on the road, moving to 5-0-1. They are back in action Sunday, June 26, at home against Wilmington Hammerheards FC.

Scoring Summary (Assists in parenthesis):

  • ORL: Devron Garcia 17’
  • NY: Tim Schmoll 38’
  • NY: Aaron Long (Devon Williams) 41’
  • ORL: Pierre Da Silva (Bryan Rochez) 87’

Discipline Summary:

  • NY: Devon Williams 28’
  • NY: Kondra Plewa 71’
  • NY: Dan Metzger 81’


NY: Ryan Meara, Kondra Plewa, Tim Schmoll, Aaron Long, Zach Carroll, Dan Metzger, Devon Williams, Derrick Etienne Jr. (Vincent Bezecourt, 64’), Junior Flemmings, Stefano Bonomo (Zoumana Simpara 76’), Brandon Allen (David Najem 83’)

Subs not used: Rafael Diaz

Orlando City: Mark Ridgers, Zach Hayden, Mikey Ambrose, Devron Garcia, Conor Donovan, Richie Laryea (Marius Obekop 58’), Andrew Ribeiro, Tony Rocha, Lewis Neal, Pierre Da Silva, Michael Cox (Bryan Rochez 56’)

Subs not used: Jake Fearson, Kyle McFadden, Antonio Matarazzo, Johnny Mendoza, Keegan Smith