Conor Chinn
Getty Images

New York's USOC run ends with 1-0 AET loss

The New York Red Bulls were eliminated by the Harrisburg City Islanders (USL-2) from the 2010 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup in a 1-0 third round extra time loss Tuesday night at Skyline Sports Complex. City Islanders substitute Dominic Oppong tallied the game-winner in the 117th minute to give the hosts the win. Harrisburg advanced to the quarterfinals to face the victor of the D.C. United-Richmond Kickers game Wednesday evening.

Early on, New York looked to control the game, as midfielder Brian Nielsen tried a long range strike five minutes in that was caught by Harrisburg and former Red Bulls goalkeeper Danny Cepero. In the 16th minute, City Islanders forward Geoff Bloes got free in the penalty box and headed a Jason Hotchkin delivery right at goalkeeper Greg Sutton.

On the other end, the Red Bulls had the best chance of the half to go ahead in the 22nd minute. After a New York free kick, the ball was swung in again and deflected by forward John Wolyniec to Mike Petke, whose volley on frame from 12 yards out was tipped away by Cepero. Four minutes later, Nielsen one-timed a 16-yard shot at Cepero.

In the second half, the City Islanders tested Sutton four minutes in, as Bloes was able to get space off a counterattack and slid a shot towards the left post that the goalkeeper went down to haul in. Five minutes later, Conor Chinn flicked a Nielsen cross to Irving Garcia, whose volley was caught by a diving Cepero.

The teams kept exchanging chances later in the period, with Sheanon Williams getting free from six yards and nodding a J.T. Noone cross just past the left post. Soon after, Chinn muscled past his defender into the box and found Wolyniec, who turned and shot it into the side netting. Williams later had a step on the Red Bulls’ defense, but his ensuing attempt went straight to Sutton.

With 20 minutes left in full time, Chinn forced Cepero into another acrobatic save after he first-timed a feed from Wolyniec, who made a darting run to the endline. Bloes had an additional chance on net three minutes after, getting some space on the right side of the penalty box and putting it past the left post.

The hosts had the best chance during the first 15 minutes of extra time. After defender Roy Miller cleared, the ball went straight to substitute Vince Petrasso, whose one-time shot beat Sutton but slammed off the right post.

Oppong scored the eventual game-winner with three minutes left in the game. After Sutton went to block a shot, the rebound fell to Bloes, who forced the goalkeeper to push it away. The ball eventually came out to an open Oppong and he blasted it into the back of the net.

The Red Bulls travel to face the Colorado Rapids at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park on Sunday, July 4 with kickoff set for 9:00 PM ET (TV: MSG; Radio: WADO 1280 AM) in their next MLS match. New York’s next home match is on July 10, when they battle Atlantic Cup rival D.C. United at Red Bull Arena at 7:30 PM (TV: MSG; Radio: WQBU 92.7 FM). Ticket Plans for the New York Red Bulls’ first season at Red Bull Arena are on sale now. Midfield seats in the 100-Level and sideline sections 107, 112, 124 and 128 are all sold out, but good seats are still available. For more information or to purchase tickets, call 1.877.RBSOCCER or log onto

New York Red Bulls 0, Harrisburg City Islanders 1 (Extra Time)
June 29, 2010 – Skyline Sports Complex; Harrisburg, PA
Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Third Round

Scoring Summary:
HAR: Dominic Oppong 1 (unassisted) 117’

Disciplinary Summary:
NY: Conor Chinn (caution) 11’

New York Red Bulls – Greg Sutton (GK), Luke Sassano, Mike Petke, Andrew Boyens, Roy Miller, Irving Garcia (Austin da Luz 76’), Jeremy Hall, Brian Nielsen (Tim Ream 80’), Juan Agudelo (Tony Tchani 66’), Conor Chinn, John Wolyniec

Substitute Not Used: Bouna Coundoul (GK)

Harrisburg City Islanders – Danny Cepero (GK), Tyler Ruthven, Dustin Bixler, Jerritt Thayer, Anthony Calvano, Jason Pelletier, J.T. Noone, Nate Jafta (Vince Petrasso 65’), Jason Hotchkin (Dominic Oppong 80’), Geoff Bloes, Sheanon Williams (Kai Kasiguran 101’)

Substitutes Not Used: Tomer Chencinski (GK), Tishan Hanley, Ryan Zabinski

Referee: Alex Prus
Referee’s Assistants: Ian Bongaart, Stan Nagle
4th Referee: John Barr
Attendance: 1,868