Henry FWA Award
Football Writers' Association

Henry receives Lifetime Award from FWA

As Red Bulls forward Thierry Henry looks forward to his first full season in New York, he recently earned a special honor that dates back to his time with Arsenal FC in England.  Henry received the 2011 Football Writers’ Association Tribute, a prestigious award given annually to an individual who the Football Writers’ Association feel has made an outstanding contribution to the game.  Henry was the latest recipient in a long line of impressive winners of the award, which was given out Sunday, Jan. 16 at The Savoy Hotel in London.

Henry played for the London-based club, Arsenal from 1999-2007 and is the club’s all-time leading scorer with 226 goals.  During his time with Arsenal, Henry became the only player in history to win the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year award three times, as he took home the award in 2006 to go along with winning back-to-back titles in 2003 and 2004. Henry twice led the Gunners to Premier League titles, including the famous 2003-04 championship when Henry and his band of “Invincibles” went through the entire season without a defeat, undoubtedly cementing the Frenchman’s legacy in North London. Henry also helped Arsenal win three FA Cup titles, and led the club to the 2006 UEFA Champions League Final.

Previous winners of the award include current Chelsea midfielder Frank Lampard, who won it in 2010, Los Angeles Galaxy midfielder David Beckham, who took home the 2008 award, and longtime Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson, who was recognized in 1996.

For more coverage from the official FWA site and for a video interview with Henry following the ceremony, CLICK HERE