Galaxy duo Landon Donovan and Edson Buddle celebrate a goal by MLS' leading scorer
Getty Images

Bradley calls in veteran-heavy squad for friendlies

In a preview of the Gold Cup roster, Bob Bradley called 24 players for the United States national team's March friendlies against Argentina and Paraguay.

It's a strong field with two-thirds of the group having traveled to the World Cup in South Africa. Big-name additions include Jermaine Jones, Tim Ream and Juan Agudelo.

[inline_node:326942]Tim Howard will jump between the pipes, while veteran Marcus Hahnemann and new face David Yelldell will back up the Everton goalkeeper.

Jay DeMerit returns to a defensive unit that includes every player who started on the back line during the World Cup. FC Nürnberg's Timothy Chandler earned his first call to the Stars and Stripes camp after showing strong form in recent weeks. Norwich City’s Zak Whitbread will also join Bradley’s 24.

The stacked midfield features stars Clint Dempsey, Landon Donovan and Michael Bradley, as well as Jones, Stuart Holden, Maurice Edu, Benny Feilhaber and Sacha Kljestan. Given the talent present, the manager will likely continue to experiment with a five-man midfield.

Bradley called Agudelo and only two other forwards: Jozy Altidore and Edson Buddle. The choice means the emerging New York Red Bulls star will miss qualifying for the U-20 World Cup held in Guatemala between March 28 and April 10.

The US take on Argentina on March 26 at the New Meadowlands Stadium and Paraguay three days later in Nashville, Tenn.

GOALKEEPERS (3): Marcus Hahnemann (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Tim Howard (Everton), David Yelldell (MSV Duisburg)

DEFENDERS (9): Carlos Bocanegra (Saint-Étienne), Jonathan Bornstein (Tigres UANL), Timothy Chandler (FC Nürnberg), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover 96), Jay DeMerit (Vancouver Whitecaps), Oguchi Onyewu (FC Twente), Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls), Jonathan Spector (West Ham United), Zak Whitbread (Norwich City)

MIDFIELDERS (9): Michael Bradley (Aston Villa), Clint Dempsey (Fulham), Mikkel Diskeruud (Stabaek), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Maurice Edu (Rangers), Benny Feilhaber (AGF Aarhus), Stuart Holden (Bolton Wanderers), Jermaine Jones (Blackburn Rovers), Sacha Kljestan (Anderlecht)

FORWARDS (3): Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls), Jozy Altidore (Bursaspor), Edson Buddle (FC Ingolstadt)