Red Bulls Reserves Fall to Crew Reserves 3-1

MONTCLAIR, NJ (July 2, 2012) - The New York Red Bulls Reserves fell to the Columbus Crew Reserves, 3-1, on Monday morning at Montclair State University Soccer Park at Pittser Field in Montclair, NJ.

During the first half, Columbus applied pressure to the Red Bulls defense and the first goal came in the 34th minute. An open Jairo Arrieta dribbled into the box and fired a left-footed shot that beat goalkeeper Jeremy Vuolo and found the bottom corner of the net.

Columbus continued their strong start in the second half with another goal in the 59th minute by Olman Vargas. Justin Meram was free on the right side of the field and cut to his left foot, before finding Vargas, who tucked it home to double the Crew’s lead.

But the Red Bulls responded  with a goal in the 67th minute off of a free kick by Mehdi Ballouchy. Ballouchy’s in-swinger from the left wing evaded every player, including Crew goalkeeper Matt Lampson, and nestled into the net.

Columbus though, scored yet another goal, solidifying their lead to 3-1, in the 77th minute with a Meram header off a cross from the left wing by Ben Speas. The Red Bulls came close to closing the gap with a one-time shot by Ballouchy in the 81st minute, but the ball zipped just by the right post.

New York Red Bulls 1, Columbus Crew 3
July 2, 2012 – MSU Soccer Park at Pittser Field – Montclair, NJ
MLS Reserve League

Scoring Summary:
CLB: Jairo Arrieta 1 (unassisted) 34’
CLB: Olman Vargas (Justin Meram) 59’
NY: Mehdi Ballouchy (unassisted) 67’
CLB: Justin Meram 1 (Ben Speas 1, Bernardo Anor 1) 77’

Disciplinary Summary:
NY: Julian Stahler (Caution) 38’

Columbus Crew: Matt Lampson, Eric Gehrig, Chad Marshall (Connor Klekota* 59’), Kevan George, Bernardo Anor, Cole Grossman, Ethan Finlay, Dilly Duka (Ben Speas 32’), Justin Meram, Olman Vargas (Rhodes Moore* 88’), Jairo Arrieta (Aaron Horton 65’)

Substitute Not Used: Carter Richardson*

New York Red Bulls: Jeremy Vuolo, Jonathan Borrajo, Stephen Keel, Tyler Ruthven, Sean Sheridan*, Victor Palsson (Michael Mazzullo* 65’), Ryan Maduro, Julian Stahler* (Mael Corboz* 46’), Giorgi Chirgadze*, Mehdi Ballouchy, Jhonny Arteaga

Substitute Not Used: Roy Miller

Referee: Jorge Gonzalez
Referee's Assistants: Albert Calise, Adam Alfi
4th Official: Bartek Cieslak

* - Guest Player

MLS LIVE now only $7.99

Decision Day presented by AT&T is Sunday. But, one thing is already decided. MLS LIVE is the best way to watch all the out-of-market action on Decision Day (October 22)*. You can watch multiple games on multiple devices or watch four games on one screen with your laptop. Subscriptions are only $7.99 (or $4.99 if you use our iOS app). *Some blackout rules apply.

MLS Decision Day presented by AT&T

Sunday, October 22 at 4:00pm ET

Decision Day is the only day of the season when every team plays at the exact same time. The result is the most intense and dramatic two hours of the MLS season as teams fight for playoff positions. Watch MLS's thrilling end to the season on ESPN & MLS LIVE.

Pay As We Play!

New York Red Bulls Pay As We Play Playoff Plans, presented by New Jersey Lottery for the Audi 2017 MLS Cup Playoffs are available now! Red Members have their normal seats included for up to two playoff games, but have access to additional seats through the Pay As We Play program.