MLS releases list of 68 players eligible for Re-Entry Process

NEW YORK — MLS on Monday unveiled the list of 68 players eligible to enter the 2013 MLS Re-Entry Process. Players may still opt out of the Re-Entry Draft process by 5 p.m. ET on Wednesday, Dec. 11, which is also the deadline for clubs to sign their Re-Entry-eligible players.

The first stage of the Re-Entry Process, when clubs can claim players by exercising their current options or extending them a bona fide offer as stipulated by the league's collective bargaining agreement with the MLS Players' Union, will take place via conference call on Thursday, Dec. 12, at 3 p.m. ET. 

Red Bulls players who may choose to participate in the Re-Entry Process include forwards Andre Akpan (out of contract) and Fabian Espindola and defenders Brandon Barklage and Heath Pearce; the Red Bulls have already indicated they do not plan to retain Barklage or Pearce for the 2014 season. Goalkeeper Kevin Hartman is also eligible but has announced his retirement.

Players that go unselected in the first stage will then be available for the second stage to be held on Wednesday, Dec. 18, at 3 p.m. ET, also via conference call. According to league rules, teams will have seven days to make a bona fide offer to players they select in Stage 2 and, if an agreement cannot be reached, the club will hold the right of first refusal for that player in MLS.

Any players not picked up in Stage 2 become available to any MLS club on a first-come, first-served basis.

The order for both Re-Entry stages will follow the same order as the MLS Waiver Draft: reverse order of finish in 2013, factoring in playoff finish (CLICK HERE for the Re-Entry order).

Players must meet a number of qualifications to become eligible for the Re-Entry Process.


(* indicates players out of contract. All other players had their options declined.)


Chicago Fire (9): M Corben Bone, D Shaun Francis, M Joel Lindpere, M Daniel Paladini, M Logan Pause, M Chris Rolfe, F Maicon Santos, M Wells Thompson*, M Michael Videira

Chivas USA (3): D Ante Jazic*, D Steve Purdy, M Josue Soto

Columbus Crew (2): M Danny O'Rourke, M Konrad Warzycha

Colorado Rapids (3): GK Steward Ceus, D Brian Mullan, M Jamie Smith

D.C. United (6): M Dwayne De Rosario, D James Riley, F Carlos Ruiz, M Marcelo Saragosa, M John Thorrington, D Daniel Woolard

FC Dallas (3): F Kenny Cooper, M David Ferreira, D Ugo Ihemelu

Houston Dynamo (5): D Bobby Boswell*, F Calen Carr*, D Mike Chabala, M Alex Dixon, F Cam Weaver

LA Galaxy (4): M Colin Clark, M Laurent Courtois, D Sean Franklin, M Pablo Mastroeni*

Montreal Impact (1): M Sinisa Ubiparipovic

New England Revolution (5): D Kevin Alston*, F Chad Barrett, F Ryan Guy, M Clyde Simms, M Juan Toja

New York Red Bulls (5): F Andre Akpan*, D Brandon Barklage, F Fabian Espindola, GK Kevin Hartman, D Heath Pearce*

Philadelphia Union (1): D Chris Albright*

Portland Timbers (2): D David Horst, D Ryan Miller

Real Salt Lake (4): M Yordany Alvarez, D Brandon McDonald, GK Josh Saunders, M Khari Stephenson

Seattle Sounders (6): D Marc Burch, GK Josh Ford, M Blair Gavin, M Mauro Rosales, F Steve Zakuani*

San Jose Earthquakes (4): D Nana Attakora, M Mehdi Ballouchy*, D Dan Gargan, GK Evan Newton

Toronto FC (2): F Justin Braun*, M Bobby Convey

Vancouver Whitecaps (4): GK Joe Cannon, F Tommy Heinemann, F Corey Hertzog, GK Brad Knighton