Red Bulls dominate U.S. U-20 camp call-ups with six players

Six players from various parts of the New York Red Bulls program were among the 36 players called into camp with the United States U-20 national team, the U.S. Soccer Federation announced on Friday. The Red Bulls' six players is the most of any club.

The training camp will be held in Lakewood Ranch, Fla., from Jan. 3-12 under the direction of head coach Tab Ramos. It is part of the ongoing preparation for the 2015 FIFA U-20 World Cup, to be held in New Zealand from May 30-June 20.

From the Red Bulls first team, Homegrown players Santiago Castaño, Matt Miazga, and Amando Moreno were named to the camp roster; all played for Ramos' U-20 squad in unofficial games against Italian youth teams in November and have previous experience with U.S. youth national teams.

From the Red Bulls Academy, collegiate standouts Alex Muyl (Georgetown; New York, N.Y.) and Adam Najem (Akron; Clifton, N.J.), both freshmen, were selected, as was current Red Bulls U-18 player Arun Basuljevic (Mahopac, N.Y.), who is committed to attend Georgetown next fall.

Those players have competed for the Red Bulls at the U-16 and U-18 levels and have played in the MLS Reserve League. Basuljevic made six appearances for the Red Bulls in reserve play in 2013, while Muyl and Najem each made three before leaving for college.

Roster by Position:
GOALKEEPERS (4): Jeff Caldwell (N.C. Fusion; Todd, N.C.), Santiago Castaño (New York Red Bulls; Union City, N.J.), Ethan Horvath (Molde FK; Highlands Ranch, Colo.), Zack Steffen (Maryland, Philadelphia Union Academy; Downington, Pa.)
DEFENDERS (10): Jordan Allen (Real Salt Lake; Rochester, N.Y.), Michael Amick (UCLA; Sunnyvale, Calif.), Sulaiman Dainkeh (Maryland, D.C. United Academy; Reston, Va.), Conor Donovan (Capital Area RailHawks Academy; Fuquay Varina, N.C.), Trevor Haberkorn (Furman; Roanoke, Texas), Grant Lillard (Chicago Fire Academy; Hinsdale, Ill.), Jalen Markey (North Carolina, Seattle Sounders Academy; Renton, Wash.), Matt Miazga (New York Red Bulls; Clifton, N.J.), Shaquell Moore (IMG Academy; Powder Springs, Ga.), John Requejo Jr. (Real So Cal; Carpinteria, Calif.)
MIDFIELDERS (14): Corey Baird (Real Salt Lake-Arizona Academy; Escondido, Calif.), Arun Basuljevic (New York Red Bulls Academy; Mahopac, N.Y.), Marco Delgado (Chivas USA; Glendora, Calif.), Luis Felipe (Cruzeiro Esporte Clube; Ouro Branco, Minas Gerais), Ian Harkes (Wake Forest, D.C. United Academy; Fairfax, Va.), Jacori Hayes (Wake Forest; Bowie, Md.), Brian Iloski (UCLA, LA Galaxy Academy; Escondido, Calif.), Eric Lickert (SC Freiburg; Glotteral, Germany), Saalih Muhammad (Dinamo GNK), Adam Najem (Akron, New York Red Bulls Academy; Clifton, N.J.), Cristian Roldan (Washington; Pico Rivera, Calif.), Herbert Robinson (Club Santos Laguna; Monclova, Coahuila), Joel Sonora (Boca Juniors; Buenos Aires, Argentina), Omar Thompson (Unattached; Miami, Fla.)
FORWARDS (8): Andrew Brody (Louisville, Real Salt Lake-Arizona Academy; Orlando, Fla.), Benji Lopez (Real Salt Lake; San Diego, Calif.), Ricardo Lopez-Espin (Shattuck-St Mary’s; Miami, Fla.), Amando Moreno (New York Red Bulls; Morganville, N.J.), Alex Muyl (Georgetown, New York Red Bulls Academy; New York, N.Y.), Zach Pfeffer (Philadelphia Union; Dresher, Pa.), Rubio Rubin (Unattached; Beaverton, Ore.), Travis Wannemuehler (NC State; Evansville, Ind.)