New York Red Bulls Announce Protected Players List Ahead of 2022 MLS Expansion Draft


HARRISON, N.J. (November 10, 2022) – The New York Red Bulls have protected 12 players ahead of tomorrow’s MLS Expansion Draft for St. Louis City SC.

Per MLS Expansion Draft rules, each club is allowed to protect up to 12 players. New York will have five additional players from the current roster automatically protected.

The Red Bulls will protect goalkeeper Carlos Coronel, defenders Sean Nealis and Andrés Reyes, midfielders Frankie Amaya, Wiki Carmona, Cristian Cásseres, Jr., Cameron Harper, Lewis Morgan, Luquinhas, and Dru Yearwood, and forwards Tom Barlow and Elias Manoel.

Five Homegrowns who are under the age of 25, defender John Tolkin, midfielders Daniel Edelman, Bento Estrela, and Omir Fernandez, along with forward Serge Ngoma are automatically protected.

RBNY Players Available for Selection

Goalkeepers: AJ Marcucci, Ryan Meara

Defenders: Dylan Nealis, Matt Nocita, Hassan Ndam

Midfielders: Steven Sserwadda

Forwards: Patryk Klimala, Jake LaCava

Four players who were with the Red Bulls in 2022, Jesús Castellano, Caden Clark, Aaron Long, and Kyle Duncan are also available for selection in Friday’s expansion draft.

Two players that were declined options this season, 

Zach Ryan and Omar Sowe are automatically protected.

The 2022 MLS Expansion Draft will take place tomorrow, Friday, November 11 at 7 p.m. ET, and will be streamed live on, MLS App, Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube.