From August 11 to August 13, 12 well-known international clubs teams will be competing for the Next Generation Trophy 2016 in Salzburg, Austria.

This is the eighth edition of the Next Generation Trophy, each time taking place at the Red Bull Football and Ice Hockey Academy of Liefering. Since the start in 2009, there have been six different winners. FC Red Bull Salzburg is defending champions having won in 2014 and 2015.

The format of the tournament includes a game against each opponent in the assigned group. Each half is only 25 minutes and the top two teams in the group advance to quarterfinals.

The New York Red Bulls will face off first against Portuguese side Benfica Lissabon and then take on FC Midtiyllnd form Denmark later that afternoon.

The quarter and semifinals will take place the following day, with the final occurring just before the closing and award ceremonies on Saturday, August 13.

Group Stage
Group A:

FC Red Bull Salzburg

Sagan Dreams

FC Cukaricki

Group B:
New York Red Bulls

Benfica Lissabon

FC Midtiylland

Group C:

Red Bull Brasil

SV Werder Bremen

Manchester City FC

Group D:

RB Leipzig

West African Football Academy

Valencia CF