Red Bulls Defeat Columbus Crew 2-0 in Preseason Opener

BRADENTON, FL (Feb. 1, 2013) – Ian Christianson and Kenny Cooper recorded second half goals as the New York Red Bulls defeated the Columbus Crew, 2-0, in their preseason opener at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, FL.

New York had the best chance of the two teams in a scoreless first half in the 15th minute. Midfielder Lloyd Sam received the ball on the right wing and crossed it towards the back post. Tim Cahill was there and volleyed it past goalkeeper Matt Lampson and off the left post. Earlier, Columbus’ Federico Higuain came close with a curling free kick that bounced wide.

Six minutes into the second half, the Crew nearly drew first blood, as forward Ryan Finley slammed a shot off the crossbar.

New York broke the deadlock in the 80th minute. Nicki Paterson’s in-swinging free kick was met by an open Christianson, who nodded it into the back of the net. The Red Bulls sealed the result with three minutes left in the game. Cooper was able to get behind the Columbus backline, rounded goalkeeper Daniel Withrow and slid it home.

The Red Bulls return to preseason play on Thursday, Feb. 7 when they take on Swedish First Division side Malmo FF at the IMG Academy. Red Bulls ticket plans for the 2013 season are on sale now by calling 1.877.RBSOCCER or logging onto

New York Red Bulls 2, Columbus Crew 0
Feb. 1, 2013 – IMG Academy – Bradenton, FL

Preseason Match

Scoring Summary:   
NY: Ian Christianson 1 (Nicki Paterson 1) 80’
NY: Kenny Cooper 1 (Santiago Castano 1) 87’

Disciplinary Summary:   
NY: Tim Cahill (caution) 24’
CLB: Kevan George (caution) 32’
NY: Ruben Izquierdo (caution) 45’

New York Red Bulls (First Half) – Luis Robles, Brandon Barklage, Markus Holgersson, Jamison Olave (Heath Pearce 34’), Roy Miller, Dax McCarty, Tim Cahill, Lloyd Sam, Ruben Izquierdo*, Josue Martinez, Thierry Henry

New York Red Bulls (Second Half) – Luis Robles (Santiago Castano 79’), Kosuke Kimura, Tyler Ruthven* (Toni Stahl* 83’), Heath Pearce, Ryan Clark, Ian Christianson, Michael Bustamante, Ruben Izquierdo* (Nicki Paterson* 67’), Marius Obekop* (Ethan Decker* 76’), Amando Moreno, Kenny Cooper

Columbus Crew – Matt Lampson (Daniel Withrow 61’), Josh Williams (Chad Barson 61’), Chad Marshall (Drew Beckle 61’), Tyson Wahl (Eric Gehrig 61’), Agustin Viana (Kyle Hyland 61’), Ethan Finlay (Ben Speas 46’), Kevan George (Shawn Sloan 61’), Tony Tchani (Konrad Warzycha 46’), Eddie Gaven (Wil Trapp 61’), Federico Higuain (Blake Brettschneider 61’), Ryan Finley (Justin Meram 61’)

* - Guest Player