Red Bulls Reserves Fall to Wilmington Hammerheads, 2-1

HARRISON, NJ (June 30, 2013) – The New York Red Bulls reserves fell to the Wilmington Hammerheads, 2-1, Sunday at Red Bull Arena.

The Red Bulls had plenty of opportunities to find the back of the net in the first half. One of those chances came in the 10th minute when the Red Bulls came in on a three-on-two opportunity. Lloyd Sam controlled a pass on the right wing from Andre Akpan and fired a shot over the net.

In the 18th minute, Michael Bustamante’s corner kick to the middle of the box found Matt Miazga, who headed the ball on net. Just moments later, Bradley Wright-Phillips put the ball on his right foot in the box and took a shot but the Red Bulls were again stopped Troy Hernandez and the score remained 0-0.

The Red Bulls took the lead in the 38th minute. A Red Bulls corner kick was punched out to Marius Obekop in the box and he took a shot that was saved by Hernandez. However, Obekop got the rebound and took another attempt on net that found the back of the goal.

The Hammerheads tied the score at 1 in the 59th minute. Michael Oliveira handled a pass in the box from Daniel Steres. Oliveira had his back towards goal and made a quick move to his right before shooting it into the back of the net.

In the 89’ minute, the Hammerheads took the lead, 2-1, when Steven Perry headed in a goal on a cross from Bryce Taylor.

New York Red Bulls 1, Wilmington Hammerheads 2

June 30, 2013 – Red Bull Arena – Harrison, NJ

MLS Reserve League


Scoring Summary:

NY: Marius Obekop (unassisted) 38’

WIL: Michael Oliveira (Daniel Steres) 59’

WIL: Steven Perry (Bryce Taylor) 89’


Disciplinary Summary:

WIL: Tom Parrait (caution) 65’

WIL: Mikey Daly (caution) 72’


New York Red Bulls – Ryan Meara, Matt Miazga, Evens St. Jean, Kosuke Kimura (Amando Moreno 60’), Ibrahim Sekagya, Michael Bustamante, Ruben Bover (Kerlins George 68’), Lloyd Sam, Marius Obekop, Andre Akpan (Benchy Estama 82’), Bradley Wright-Phillips

Substitute Not Used: Santiago Castano

Wilmington Hammerheads – Troy Hernandez, Shawn Nicklaw, Gareth Evans, Mikey Daley, Shaun Utterson, Daniel Robert, Daniel Steres, Paul Nicholson (Tom Parrait 46’), Cody Arnoux (Bryce Taylor 46’), Richard Isberner (Michael Oliveira 46’), Kyle Greig (Steven Perry 74’)

Substitutes Not Used: Jamel Wallace, Mark Briggs, Cory Elenio


Referee: Kevin Terry Jr.

Referee’s Assistants: TJ Zablocki, Kris Larwa

4th Referee: Ash Kamel