New York Red Bulls eMLS Competitor, George Adamou, Wins 2020 eMLS Cup presented by Coca-Cola and PlayStation®

NEW YORK (June 28, 2020) - New York Red Bulls eMLS competitor, George Adamou, was crowned the 2020 eMLS Cup Champion this evening in the third-ever edition of the tournament. With the victory, Adamou earned the title as best EA SPORTS™ FIFA 20 player in North America and $12,500 in prize money. Runner up, NYCFC's Chris 'Didychrislito' Holly and semifinalists, LAFC's Martin 'RemiMartinn' Oregel and Atlanta United's 'Paulo Neto' also secured a portion of the $20,000 prize pool.

Twenty-year-old Adamou, from Queens, New York, is in the midst of his first year as a professional FIFA player and was the highest ranked U.S. FIFA player in the FIFA 20 EA SPORTS™ Global Series. This is his first year representing the New York Red Bulls in eMLS having just signed with them in December 2019 ahead of the 2020 eMLS season.

This year's eMLS Cup took place entirely online and in a remote format. After an intense day of competition, the two Clubs that made it to the eMLS Cup Finals were the New York Red Bulls and NYCFC - a New York Derby. The rivalry was intensified during eMLS Cup as the eMLS Cup Finals went to extra time. Adamou ended up notching the game-winning goal in extra time to secure the eMLS Cup title.

On his way to the eMLS Cup Finals, Adamou defeated Alexander 'ALEKZANDUR' Betancourt from Sporting Kansas City, League Series One and Two winner, FC Cincinnati's Gordon 'FIDDLE' Thornsberry (in penalty kicks), and LAFC's Martin 'RemiMartinn'.

Meanwhile, NYCFC's didycrislito observed a first-round bye after securing the No. 3 seed as a result of his League Series One and League Series Two performances. Didychrislito earned his first victory of the day over LA Galaxy's Giuseppe 'GODFATHER' Guastella, the 2019 eMLS Cup runner up. Didychrislito then went on to complete a come-from-behind victory over Atlanta United's Paulo Neto to earn his spot in the eMLS Cup Final. Based out of Brazil, Pauo Neto was ranked 11th in the world in the FIFA 20 EA SPORTS™ Global Series and recently won the eMLS Tournament Special alongside MLS teammate Franco Escobar.

Twenty-five gamers representing twenty-five different MLS Clubs competed in the 2020 eMLS season. Twelve competitors qualified for Sunday's broadcast for the eMLS Cup crown. The top eleven competitors (FC Cincinnati - FIDDLE, Atlanta United - Paulo Neto, NYCFC - Didychrislito, Vancouver Whitecaps - exraa, LAFC - RemiMartinn, LA Galaxy - GODFATHER, Toronto FC - PhilB94, New York Red Bulls - Adamou, Sporting Kansas City - ALEKZANDUR, Nashville SC - Doolsta, Portland Timbers - RCTID Thiago) in total season points after League Series One and League Series Two automatically qualified while the final 12th seed (Columbus Crew SC - Graham Ellix) was determined through a Last Chance Qualifier tournament on Friday among the remaining fourteen players.

eMLS Cup was initially scheduled to occur in March, but due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the event was rescheduled and moved to an online format. Due to the changes announced for the EA SPORTS FIFA 20 Global Series, in which eMLS was also an Official League Partner, Global Series points will not be allocated to eMLS Cup competitors.
Adamou now joins Doolsta and Kid M3mito as eMLS Cup Champions. Doolsta won the 2019 eMLS Cup representing the Philadelphia Union and Kid M3mito won the 2018 eMLS Cup representing the Houston Dynamo.