A Look Back at the New York Red Bulls Postseason History

The New York Red Bulls are having a historic 2018 season.

New York will be looking for their first MLS Cup, and their first appearance in the championship game since the 2008 season, when the club lost 3-1 to the Columbus Crew.

Prior to the 2008 season, the club had never made it out of the first round of the playoffs. Since then, the only time the Red Bulls did not play in the second round of the postseason was in the 2010 season.

Since 2014, the Red Bulls have made it to the Conference Finals twice, both in 2014 and 2015, the latter being the same year they won the Supporters’ Shield.

When the Red Bulls made it to the Conference Finals in 2014, they defeated Atlantic Cup rival D.C. United 4-2 on aggregate in the semi-finals, before losing to the New England, 4-3 on aggregate in the Conference Finals.

The following season, New York played D.C. United once again in the semifinals, defeating them 2-0 on aggregate, before losing to the Columbus Crew, 2-1 on aggregate in the Conference Finals.

In the past two seasons, the Red Bulls have not made it past the semifinals, but will look to do so this year, as the club is focused on bringing a championship and continuing to re-write the club's history, as stated by defender Michael Amir Murillo after Friday’s training session.

“We want to bring a championship to this club and make history,” Murillo said.

Overall, the Red Bulls have made 18 playoff appearances, eight second round appearances, three Conference Finals appearances and one MLS Cup appearance.

After clinching a playoff berth on September 1, the Red Bulls have now qualified for the playoffs a MLS record 19th time. It also marks their ninth consecutive playoff berth, which is the longest active streak in the New York metro area.